Sage Accounting
Sage Group plc
Sold in South Africa
From
R270
/mo incl VAT
R270 including VAT · R234.78 excluding VAT
- Price read on11 OCT 2026
- VATIncluded
- Free planNo
- Free trialYes
- Files with SARSYes
Made for South African buyers. Every price in rand, read from the vendor.
Sage Accounting starts cheaper at R270 /mo incl VAT against R322 /mo for QuickBooks Online.
Sage Accounting handles SARS returns. Both are sold and supported in South Africa.
Sage Accounting price read 11 OCT 2026 · QuickBooks Online price read 11 OCT 2026
Sage Group plc
Sold in South Africa
From
R270
/mo incl VAT
R270 including VAT · R234.78 excluding VAT
Intuit Inc.
Sold in South Africa
From
R322
/mo
Prices are compared only when both are on the same VAT footing.
All prices are in rand. Where a vendor lists in dollars, pounds or euros we convert at R16.53 per US dollar, R21.86 per pound and R18.53 per euro (European Central Bank reference rates, via Frankfurter, 9 OCT 2026).
| Measure | Sage AccountingSage Group plc | QuickBooks OnlineIntuit Inc. |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | ||
| Starting price | R270 | R322 |
| Basis | /mo incl VAT | /mo |
| Price read | 11 OCT 2026 | 11 OCT 2026 |
| South Africa | ||
| Availability | Sold in South Africa | Sold in South Africa |
| SARS filing | ||
| Handles SARS returns | Yes | Not listed |
| SARS returns listed | 1 listed | Not listed |
| VAT201 | Yes | Not listed |
| Bank feeds | ||
| Banks listed | 6 listed | Not listed |
| Capitec | Yes | Not listed |
| FNB | Yes | Not listed |
| Absa | Yes | Not listed |
| Standard Bank | Yes | Not listed |
| Nedbank | Yes | Not listed |
| TymeBank | No | Not listed |
| Investec | Yes | Not listed |
| Discovery Bank | No | Not listed |
| Compliance | ||
| Items listed | None listed | Not listed |
| POPIA | No | Not listed |
| Features | ||
| Invoices and quotes in seconds | Yes | No |
| Track what customers owe you | Yes | No |
| Automatic bank reconciliation on every plan | Yes | No |
| AI drafts bills from invoices and writes customer emails | Yes | No |
| Bookkeeping and VAT return calculation on Standard | Yes | No |
| Receipt capture with AutoEntry on Standard | Yes | No |
| Access for your accountant | Yes | No |
| Submit VAT returns to SARS from the product with your SARS user ID | Yes | No |
| Mobile app for iOS and Android | Yes | No |
| Automated bank feeds and bookkeeping | No | Yes |
| Invoicing and online payments | No | Yes |
| Income and expense tracking | No | Yes |
| Inventory, purchase and sales orders from Plus | No | Yes |
| Project management and profitability from Plus | No | Yes |
| Multiple currencies from Essentials | No | Yes |
| Access for your accountant on every plan | No | Yes |
| Plans | ||
| Free trial | Yes | Yes |
| Free plan | No | No |
In each row the stronger cell is dark and the weaker is grey. A row of ticks appears only where a vendor's page lists the item.
Researched 11 October 2026 from both vendors' own pages
Sage Accounting lists rand prices from R270 a month including VAT and names the direct bank feeds it offers. QuickBooks Online lists four plans from R322 a month for one to 25 users, with free phone support with a paid plan and no contract, but does not state its VAT basis. Both give a 30 day trial. If you value certainty on VAT and local detail, Sage is clearer today. If you value a roomy plan ladder and included phone support, QuickBooks deserves a look.
Choose Sage Accounting if
Choose QuickBooks Online if
| At a glance | Sage Accounting | QuickBooks Online |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | R270 a month including VAT, R3 240 a year | R322 a month, VAT basis not stated |
| Plans | Start R270 and Standard R490 | Simple Start R322, Essentials R508, Plus R708 and Advanced R1 144 |
| Users | 1 on Start, 2 to 5 on Standard | 1, 3, 5 and 25 |
| Free trial | 30 days, plus a 30 day refund promise | 30 days |
| Bank feeds | Direct with FNB, Nedbank and Investec | Listed on every plan, banks not named |
| Multi currency | R185 a month add on | Included from Essentials |
| Phone support | 0861 237 243 | Free with a paid plan |
| Contract | No long term contracts | None, cancel anytime |
Sage's pricing is explicit: Start from R270 a month including VAT and Standard from R490, with a long, clear list of add ons priced in rand. QuickBooks lists Simple Start at R322, Essentials at R508, Plus at R708 and Advanced at R1 144 a month and does not say whether VAT is included, so ask before comparing. The structure differs too. Sage keeps multi currency as an R185 add on, while QuickBooks includes it from Essentials. Sage sells extra users at R85 a month, while QuickBooks builds users into its plan ladder at 1, 3, 5 and 25.
Both do invoicing, bank reconciliation, VAT and reporting. QuickBooks adds invoice capture from photos, PDFs and emails and inventory from Plus. Sage adds AutoEntry receipt capture, AI drafting of bills and optional modules such as debtors manager and time tracking.
Sage is more specific: its pages discuss VAT returns with your accountant, and its bank page lists First National Bank, Nedbank and Investec for direct feeds. QuickBooks describes VAT tracking and tax return preparation in general terms and does not name South African banks.
Both offer phone support, and QuickBooks includes it free with a paid plan and adds a free onboarding call. Sage offers a local line, a community hub and a 30 day refund promise on top of the trial.
Sage's Start plan is single user and its add ons add up. QuickBooks gives fewer South African specifics and does not state its VAT basis.
The verdict
Sage is the safer choice when you want the VAT basis, the rand price and your bank feed spelled out. QuickBooks is worth trialling when included phone support, a roomier plan ladder and lower list prices matter.
Sage Accounting
Sage Group plc
QuickBooks Online
Intuit Inc.
Prices are read from each vendor's own pages and dated. How we read prices.
Sage Accounting starts cheaper at R270 /mo incl VAT against R450 /mo incl VAT for Xero.
Read the comparisonQuickBooks Online starts cheaper at R322 /mo against R450 /mo incl VAT for Xero.
Read the comparisonFree for Zoho Books and R450 /mo incl VAT for Xero are not on the same VAT footing.
Read the comparison